Nitrites And Ammonia Too High. What Do I Do?

SunEater
Hello, I'm new to fish-keeping, and I'm struggling with a 55 gallon tank I got about a month ago. I've had it running since I got it, and I was fishless cycling it until someone told me that I could just get Tetra Safe Start and add fish right away. I looked into it and seemed to get positive answers, so I did about a 50% water change (ammonia was at 1ppm), added the TSS and two days later went to get fish. I figured the bacteria would be alright with the ammonia already in the tank. I didn't find out until later that apparently dechlorinators can cancel out the bacteria in TSS so now because of my impatience, I'm doing a fish-in cycle.

I've got four albino corydoras in the tank now. One that was already not looking so good when I got him died that next morning. Since then I've been doing daily 50% water changes and using Seachem Prime to try and control the parameters. Today, four days later, I woke up to another dead cory (leaving me with the four I have now) who had red spots on him that I think were probably from red blotch disease from the water conditions)

I did a water test and got .5 ammonia and .5 nitrites, so I did another 50% water change. I got home from classes and checked the water again and the ammonia was .25 and the nitrites 1ppm already. I did another 50% water change and now the ammonia is .5 again (my tap runs between .5 to 1ppm ammonia) and the nitrites dropped to .25

Should I continue changing the water as much as I am with my tap running such high ammonia? Is there anything else I can do for the fish to keep the water in check until the tank cycles? I have some media from a 10 gallon tank in the 55's filter, but I'm not sure what else I can do. I feel awful for the fish and should have looked into TSS and which fish to start off with more.

sfsamm