Nitrite And Nitrate Problems

Cerissa

Reaction score
HI everyone! Wasn't sure where to post this. I'm not a total newbie but new to having these problems. We have a 125 gallon tank with nitrate and nitrite problems. We've had various filters over the years. We have tried everything suggested to us to get numbers down. We were successful is getting nitrites to almost zero but nitrates still pretty high. We just bought a Fluval FX4 and it's been running for a 7 days. Now the nitrites are off the chart (where they were almost zero) and nitrates worse. Surely this can't be normal?? My heart sank when I saw the reading.

r5n8xaw00

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Welcome to Fish Lore.
Do you have fish in the125g? What type of fish and how many?
Do you have any other source of media from an already established aquarium, this would help seed your new filter.
At this point the only way to lower nitrites and nitrates is by water changes. But the presence of fish or without fish will determine the amount and frequencies of water change.

OP
Cerissa

Cerissa

Reaction score
Hi, thanks! The tank itself is well established. We've had it for many years As for current fish, we have an Oscar, Pleco, Jack Dempsy, 3 Silver Dollars, and 3 Featherfin Catfish. Per directions on the Fluval we filled wuth 1.5 gallons of water and we used tap water (our tap water test showed 0 nitrites, nitrates, amonia). We put more than that in a 25% tank change LOL So I figured it wasn't that. But could it be?
We've had a hard time keeping it as clean since putting this big pirate ship in there. Last night we took it out, replaced decorations and did a tank change. Also treated with PrimeOne.

r5n8xaw00

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
1 year