Nitrates In Cycle

stacec

Hey everyone,

So I’m doing a fishless cycle and it’s now day 6. I have gravel, driftwood and an ornament in the tank (140L). I tested the water before adding the ammonia (dr Tim’s) and it was all at the expected 0. I added ammonia to the 2-4ppm mark (API liquid tests). I haven’t added any more since I haven’t had a low reading. I have been testing ammonia each day and it’s now at about 2ppm. I decided to see how everything else was going and I still have 0 nitrite but I’m between 5-10ppm of nitrates. What could be causing this since I haven’t seen nitrites? Is that normal? Ideas?

Excuse my newbie attitude, I’m still learning! Thank you for your advice!
IMG_0421.jpg

Advertisement
1- Have you ever tested your tap water? I have natural nitrAtes in mine
2- Also, the bottled bacteria can do some odd things like that... but until you can process the ammonia in 24-48 hours it’s not cycled
3- have you been adding prime? It could be binding the ammonia (your test will still show positive but it could be all ammonium and not free ammonia (ammonium is much less toxic)
4- Prime can also bind nitrites... but they should still show on the test...
5- I have heard that some people using dr Tim’s never even see a nitrite spike.... seems unlikely but possible according to dr Tim

I would just leave it (especially if you have been adding prime or something that binds the ammonia) and see what it looks like in a couple days (1-2) if your ammonia is at 0 then re dose it and see how long it takes to come down
I believe he recommends not using prime but using a dechlorinator that does just that... only takes out the chlorine and chloramines

Last edited by a moderator:

Advertisement
Yeah I tested the tap water and it had 0 in all ammonia, nitrite and nitrate

See above lol I’m tired and forgot to write all possibilities lol