Nitrates High

1. omordn Member Member

So I'm doing a fish cycle with TSS+ on a 3g with a Betta fish. I am on the first week of the cycle and I just performed my first test using the API Freshwater Master Test Kit. Below are my readings:

• pH - 7.2
    • Nitrites - 0 ppm
    • Nitrates - 160 ppm
    • Ammonia - 0.25 ppm
    • Temp - 82 F

I know that when you have high Nitrates you are supposed to do a large water change to get them down. However, I am a bit hesitant to do this since this is my first time cycling a tank with TSS+. Is a water change still recommended when you're in the middle of your cycle?

From what I remember, you're supposed to leave your tank alone for two weeks when using TSS.

Thank you in advance.

2. TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Do you have a fish in there now? I would leave it be for the recommended 2 weeks. This is why it's recommended not to test during the 2 weeks of TSS+, so you're not tempted to do a water change :)

3. omordn Member Member

Hahaha. Yes, the Betta is in the 3g right now. I just want to make sure that I don't need to take drastic measures with such high Nitrate levels. I've never cycled with TSS let alone with a fish in there (i.e. couldn't find pure ammonia and I got impatient). :)

4. TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

I wouldn't do anything until the 2 weeks are up, unless he shows signs of sickness or stress. Almost done!

5. omordn Member Member

Thanks TexasDomer Always good advice! From what I can tell... he seems to be fine. Although I've never owned a Betta before so I'm still learning their behavior. He's swimming in his tank, he's always asking for food, his colors look bright, and hides in the plants when it's bedtime (I'm assuming that's what it is).

6. el337 Fishlore Legend Member