Nitrate In My Nano Reef Help

Discussion in 'Nano Saltwater Tanks' started by hannarrlouise, May 24, 2019.

1. hannarrlouise Valued Member Member

Hi guys, I need help and am very confused.
    I’m new to salt water tanks, this is my first.
    I have a 15 gallon nano reef. Inside I have 3 live rock (not sure of the weight) an elegance, goniopora, torch and a clown fish pair.
    I’m not having any trouble with either fish or coral, everything is going great. Here’s a picture for reference.

However, that being said my nitrates are high. At least, I think they are.
    With my fresh water tank I was used to measuring by ppm as I have an API fresh water master test kit. Whereas with my nano reef I have a Colombo nitrate test kit (also ammonia and nitrite.)
    Here’s my results.

I have been searching online and it says that even 15mg/l is safe for fish and coral, however I don’t have a clue if there is even that much in there as my test kit doesn’t go past 4.0mg/l and I can’t say that I understand that even.
    My tank is fully cycled, I did a fish less cycle with live rock, tested the parameters myself and even took water to be tested to my closest aquarium store, where I was always told they were fine.
    However, I’m unsure as to whether or not these levels are harmful for my fish and coral. I have been dosing half a cap of prime every day for the past 2 days to try to detoxify my nitrates and have even purchased and waiting on delivery of some Nitrate Ex.
    My fish seem healthy, my corals are still absolutely fine so I’m wondering if the levels are okay. This is more because, as I said, I’m used to dealing with ppm not mg/l and do not even know the safe levels or how to convert mg/l - ppm if it’s even possible.
    Also, my last weekly water change was Monday because my levels were what they are reading now and we took at least 30% instead of 20% out and am still getting these levels.