Newborn molly fish! Please help!

1. prowlsgurl Initiate Member

I was expecting my Mollies to not give birth for a few more weeks. This is my first time having any babies. I have 2 right now (all I can find) in a breeder. I have my ten gallon and just got home from the pet shop when I saw them swimming around. I managed to save 2 and they seem to be doing well. Just wondering how long I should keep them in there? And when and how often to feed them? Also any other advice would be awesome. Thanks!

2. RogueAgent94 Fishlore Legend Member

Hi!

I would feed them every two to three hours after sunrise till sunset. Or between the hours your tank lights are on. Just crush up some flakes into powder and feed a tiny pinch each time. The more often you can feed them the better. Make sure you clean out the bottom of their little box though! I wouldn't keep them in there for longer than a week or two because they will start growing like crazy soon.

3. prowlsgurl Initiate Member

Alright! That should be long enough to get it set up my ten gallon correct? Also they haven't eaten yet. I heard three times a day, so maybe night, morning, and afternoon?

4. RogueAgent94 Fishlore Legend Member

Three times a day would work with older fry but as often as you an you should feed them.

Hm.. yeah I suppose so. You can instantly cycle by using some of your media from the cycled tank and putting it in the new tank.

5. prowlsgurl Initiate Member

Lol just fed em. They are munching away. I hope they'll be alright til' morning. So just clean out the breeder once a day? Oh and I will be using some water from the main tank plus some fresh. I'll use a little gravel too from that tank. Plus Start Zyme.

6. RogueAgent94 Fishlore Legend Member