newbies set up

lintulover666

Reaction score
Well I'm new to keeping fish. My dad has had them before but was forced to sell them when we moved over 6 years ago.
Anyway I have a 65 litre tank (aqua one) It has an UG filter. I know not great but with the money I earn was best I could afford as it all came together along with the heater.
At the moment it has 1 male guppy and three females. 1 platy and 3 neons. I think my females are pregnant as they all have a gravid spot which they had when I bought them and have to say bellies are getting slightly bigger everyday.
V the tank the night I set it up
clear.gif

V tank as it is now
clear.gif

v very blurry male guppy ( those things are fast, haven't managed to get ones of the females yet)
clear.gif

v my platy
clear.gif

Because I'm assuming the guppies are pregnant I'm getting a new tank on thursday thought its off ebay but am going to inspect and buy if its ok but apparently it has a dwarf gouramI and 3 male guppies in already.
So not sure what to do about that the gouramI should be ok in the tank I have but I know about the male to female guppy ratio so not sure what to do, may see if they can find another home for them.

Attachments

Gunnie

Well Known
Reaction score
Very nice!  Yep, you're probably gonna have to find homes for the guppies and the gourami. How big is the new tank gonna be?  You might be able to try them all together if it's quite a bit larger than what you already have.  You also need to keep in mind that your new tank is not cycled, and you definitely need to watch your ammonia and nitrites right now so you don'tkill your new fish.  If the new tank is large enough to accomodate both tanks of fish combined, and the new tank is cycled, you will probably be okay, at least as far as the cycling goes.  If you are not sure about cycling, please check out these newbie articles here on FishLore: