Newbie wondering if my water parameters are ok

JLSwenson

Hi all. I’m very new to the fish keeping hobby....I set up a tank for my kids this April, but find myself the most intrigued about the fish and keeping them healthy! Our guppies are great, and have had several batches of fry since April. But, slowly, the adult guppies have perished (We have 3 adults left of 7), and I’m wondering if the water is the problem? Ive had my local fish store experts test my water each time I go in (about once a month), and it always comes out normal, but with a high pH.
Also, the water is very clear, but is a brownish yellow color, and that started about 2 months ago. I cannot figure out how to clear up the discoloration. Also, my sword plants have died out, and the only thing that thrives right now is my Java Fern (which has a bunch of baby ferns attached, so I have taken a few to stick into the rocks around the aquarium. Recently, I read up on water hardness (GH & KH), and bought the API brand test kit, along with my own pH test kit. Here are the results:

GH = 3
KH = 19 (Do I need to lower this? Test instructions say “Ideal” for guppies is 8-11KH)
pH = 7.6 (could be higher as this is the top of the test grid that was included)

I would love thoughts on what you think could be going on, and I’m happy to give any more details if necessary. Thank you in advance, I appreciate any insight I can get.

Islandvic

Welcome to the forum.

Could you post some more info like tank size, model/brand/type of filters, temp, water change size and frequency etc etc.

Hard to tell about your situation without knowing ammonia/ nitrite/ nitrate levels.

As long as pH is stable and doesn't fluctuate, a pH in high 7's is ok for most fish. They adapt just fine most times. Fish really prefer not to have pH fluctuate up or down. This causes more problems versus a pH that's "too high" but stable.

Darthmoli