Newbie with Tank Heater/Thermometer Questions

rjames1973

Hello everyone. I’m new to this forum and need some feedback on a couple of things. I recently received and set up a Marineland 5-gallon portrait tank for a Betta fish. Today, I received a 50-watt Freesea submersible aquarium heater from Amazon. I’m relatively new to setting up a tank and am struggling with where to place the heater and thermometer. Right now, I have the heater submerged in the back compartment where the pump is housed. Based on where the plants are placed in the tank, I felt that this was the only place to put it. My concern is that the heater is resting next to the cord for the pump. Will this cause an issue with damaging the pump cord? Also, I wasn’t sure where the place the thermometer, so I just have it dangling in the tank on the right side. If there is a better place where it should be placed, please let me know. I’d appreciate any help with my questions. I’ve included pictures for reference. Thanks!

Betta'sAnonymous

I try to place my thermometer as far away from the heater as possible. Figure it gives me a better idea what the water temp is that way. As far as burning the cord, i would try to get some suction cups made for holding cords if possible to help keep it away from the heater or try to run it a different route of possible.

John58ford