Newbie with some questions.....

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Deacon, Apr 10, 2006.

1. DeaconNew MemberMember

Hi guys,

Im really new at owning a tank. I recently got a 30 gallon for free. I went out and bought I believe everything I need to get started. If you guys dont mind I sure could use some advise on what steps to take next....

This is what I bought....

Penguin 660r powerhead
    Penguin 170 Bio Wheel
    All needed decor(plastic plants, gravel, rock)
    Heater, Thermometer

Cycle 4oz botte
    Aqua Plus

Ok I have set up tank washed cleaned boiled everything I should. I have setup my tank added water and added proper amount of cycle and aquaplus. Now for the questions......I know I have to wait for the cycle to finish.

1. What is my next step?
    2. I think I need to check levels for next couple of weeks right. I did buy a master test kit as well.
    3. The lady at the pet store said I could put fish in in as soon as 1 weeks. After everything I read that just doesnt sound right does it?
    4. What should I be looking for during the cycle?

I really apprectiate your knowlegde and help. Hope you guys dont mind a new guy whos gonna ask ALOT of questions..... ;D

Thanks

2. KelleyNew MemberMember

Deacon

I would read all the newbie articles you can and save yourself time and trouble. I started my tank 55 gal tank 6 weeks ago, I finally got some readings on my tank. I would not add fish yet. Knowing what I know now I would have done the fishless cycle.

3. ButterflyModeratorModerator Member

This is a great place to start. Glad your fishless cycling. Your fish will thank you also ;)
    Carol

4. chickadeeFishlore VIPMember