Newbie With 1st Betta--fin Rot & Tank Questions

alieser
HI everyone. My daughter purchased her first male Betta about 7 weeks ago. He's in a 5 gallon tank with a heater & filter. He's got fin rot... maybe even fin melt... AGAIN. I'm at a loss of what's going on in the aquarium & hope some of you could help. Here's the history:

We did not cycle the tank before adding him. I'm new to this & didn't know & still don't totally understand about cycling. I noticed fin rot shortly after we got him & after reading various threads here we bought API test kit & I was doing about 50% wc with gravel vacuuming every day using stress coat. He appeared to be getting better bc I saw some new growth on his tail. Usually parameters were 0 ammonia, 0 nitrates & 0 nitrites when checked. He gets 2-3 pellets two times a day & a couple blood worms a couple times a week. He eats well. He's decently active, but activity level does seem to have gone down since we got him. He also never seems to flare.

Then we had to travel for 12 days & he was set up with an automatic feeder. When we came home he'd lost a lot of color & appeared lethargic. I didn't check water parameters, but did an immediate 50% water change w/ vacuuming & continued to do so for a few days. He perked up & appeared to be regaining color so I slowed on water changes. I did 20% wc for a few days & then wanted to try waiting 3 days between water changes. On day 3 (today) I noticed his tail appears stuck together, tattered & black at end AGAIN. I checked water & here's what I found:

0.25 ammonia
0 nitrites
0 nitrates

PH is usually btwn 7.4-7.6
76-78 degrees

I immediately did a 50% water change & gravel vac with stress coat. My questions are the following:

1--What's the best route to treat his fin rot?