Newbie whant to get goldfish please help??

eenrique25
HI I'm new to this, ive got a 38 gallon (41 x 20 x 11) freshwater tank which has been running for 2 days now fr the cycle with a (tap water conditioner, stress enzyme, and stress coat+) I'm getting the master kit for testing my water before getting any fish, I don't have any live plants and don't think on buying them, but I'm planning on getting some goldfish, angelfish, and cat fish with a small pleco, how will that go in terms of getting along and how many of each should I buy?

Ive got two filters (1 for 20-30 gallons it came with the kit and one of 30 -60 gallons, both running) and an air pump, also waters pretty clean, now what do you think of the products I used for nitro cycle and also another question I live where there's pretty hot climate so my tank doesn't go below 76 - 78 and if I get goldfish is there something to make the water colder or is this temp.ok, thank you.

Shawnie
welcome to fishlore !

goldfish like cooler temps and aren't tropical where as the others are...one goldfish needs 20 gallons alone so best not to add them...or don't go tropical and just get a couple of goldfish

some catfish & pleco's get huge also, so depending on what kind you want would matter ..angels are beautiful fish but seem to do better in an established tank...

doing a fishless cycle is great!!!!! so just get your test kit, feed the tank with the ammonia or a piece of raw shrimp, and watch for the cycle to be done..could take a few weeks but be patient

Lucy
Welcome to Fish Lore

76-78 is perfect for some tropical fish, but like Shawnie said, you'll have to choose between goldies or tropicals.

If you go with tropical and choose one of the smaller plecos you could have more fish.

If you use ammonia for your cycle, make sure it is pure ammonia, no additives. You can also use fish flakes.

Good luck!

MinxMermaid