120 Gallon Tank Newbie to FishLore

Cjs235

Reaction score
Hi All,
Happy to be here. I've had aquariums (tropical, salt, brackish) most of my life. (I'm a 50s model so we're talking a long time here:) I'm redoing my 120 gallon tank because I can't get replacement parts for the dang thing, like filter carbon pillows. Frankly, the system is difficult for me to maintain. It's a Marineland double Tide-pool bio-filtration system. Putting those filter media trays in place is a back killer and if you do it as often as recommended, which I don't, it's financially ridiculous. Anyway, I'm switching to 2 AquaClear filter units. It's suppose to move 60 GPH each. I'm hoping it's quiet because this tank is in the living room.
Now for my question. (Feel free to mention any other concerns you may have with my long winded introduction.) I pitched the black sand I had in the tank and am buying 6 new bags. Believe me, it's time. I'm not good with water changes. The store guy told me I didn't need to pre rinse the sand, just rinse the filters after it runs for awhile. This doesn't quite sit right. How about I put the sand in, fill it part way, stir it up a bit and drain it back out without sucking up too much sand. I'm thinking of adding a UV as well for algae control. I'm 5'2" and reaching the bottom of the tank is a bit of a challenge to scrap algae, even when standing on the couch.
I had black algae growing on everything including all my rocks and plants. I'm getting a bag of sea salt to clean the tank before I do anything with it after my son plugs the 4 intake-output holes in the bottom. Such fun. Anyway, changes, suggestions, questions all welcome. Appreciate any and all input.

FishGirl38

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hello and Welcome! Excited you joined with Fishlore, there's a great community lurking these threads.