newbie questions - advice 10 Gallon Tank

1. himeh Initiate Member

Hi all,

First post.
    I'm new to this hobby and I have a few questions on my 10 gallon tank that houses 2 bettas and 3 cory cats (one cory will be transfered to another tank, a 5 gallon one with one betta). The 10 gal. tank is still in the cycling stage, being less than 3 wks. I test the water every other/every day, do water changes every three days or less, and feeding time is once every other day removing extra food.

I realized after the fish were added (not all at once), that I added too much fish for cycling process. A mistake I hope I don't regret. I've been monitoring all the fishes everyday and they all are very active and enjoying each others company. I noticed one betta changes color when his mood changes. He gets darker when he faces the other betta in this divided tank. And the cory cats are busy.

Questions:

Should I remove some of the fish until the tanks is cycled?

Is .25 ammonia level dangers? and should I increase my water changes to 50% instead of 10-20%? How will this effect the good bacteria with bigger water changes?

Is it too late for some of my fishes since I'm cycling the tank with them in it?

Note: I increased the temp on the tank to 80*F and lowered the pH.

2. flyin-lowe Well Known Member Member