Newbie needs help with tank upgrade!!!

Bahamut

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
So I've been wanting to upgrade my tank for quite a while now and with all these stores turning "Black Friday" into "Black-Week", I figured now might be a good time to finally get one. I really want something between 20-30 gallons, but there's just so many brands and kits and different lighting and filters (and those prices.. geez) that I'm just feeling . I'm a newbie fish owner who's still trying to figure out what's best for my fishy friends and I really wanna give them the best home possible. So if any of you could help me out in figuring which tank, filter, and lighting system would be best ​(and not having to make my fishies pay rent to afford it all) , I would really really appreciate it

Chris99

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Welcome! You said you are upgrading, what size tank and what type of fish do you currently have? That will go a long way in determining what type of setup you want. A few questions you should ask yourself:

1. What type and number of fish do I want?
2. Do I want a planted tank?
3. What kind of maintenance am I willing to do?
4. What's my budget?

pugletfan

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
A 29 gallon tank is a really nice size. You could buy it as a kit and slowly upgrade to better equipment (filters, etc). Or a 40 breeder size is really nice, especially for plants.

OP
B

Bahamut

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I currently have a 10 gallon with a Dalmation Molly and a Red Flame Dwarf GouramI and I'd like to have some Rummynose Tetras, a few Sterba's Cory, and maybe some female bettas (but i've been reading that they could get aggressive even in sororities so I'm not too sure about those).