Newbie Moving From 10 To 55 Gallon Needs Stocking Advice

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by k9shrink, Oct 5, 2018.

1. k9shrink

k9shrinkNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +24
    Experience:
    Just started
    Hi guys,

I'm a total newbie, have had my 10 gallon for 5 weeks and got a whirlwind education in the nitrogen cycle, etc. in time to keep everybody alive. Just bought a gorgeous used 55 gallon acrylic tank with oak stand/hood that I'm setting up in a few days to do a fishless cycle.

Current stocking (10 gallons):

6 - male feeder-type guppies (gift from a friend, the whole reason I had to buy a tank!)
    2 - nerite snails
    1 - female betta, super peaceful
    1 - yoyo loach
    1 - Sterba's cory
    1 - orange laser cory
    1 - albino bronze cory

All are 1-1.5" juveniles except the laser cory and (possibly) the female betta. So far, everybody gets along great.

Total planned stocking (55 gallons) is same as above PLUS:

FRIENDS FOR BOTTOM FEEDERS:
    2 more yoyos (for total of 3 yoyos)
    3 more of each cory (for total of 12 cories)

SMALL SCHOOL OF MID-TO-UPPER FISH:
    Any ONE of these species (would consider others): neon rainbowfish, Lake Kutubu rainbowfish, marble hatchetfish, harlequin rasboras

"CENTERPIECE" FISH:
    Bolivian ram cichlids and/or Keyhole cichlids

Questions:

1) How is the overall plan? Anybody see aggression issues?

2) Which type of mid-level school would be colorful, but least likely to be eaten by adult yoyo loaches?

3) Which of the centerpiece fish would you go with, or can I have both? I know people are told to get 6 of each of these and let them pair up. I don't particularly want them to breed, but also don't want 5 males fighting over 1 female. Is there a place I can buy already-bonded M/F pairs?

Thanks!

2. jacob thompson

jacob thompsonWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +307
    Experience:
    3 years