Newbie Messed Up Bad Shame Me (kidding).....then Help Me (please) Help

1. jesternsb Member Member

hi everyone, newbie here. I have been reading a TON on this site since i joined the hobby ( 4 month ago). Love everything and have been taking in a ton so thank you all for that!!!

Unfortunately i find myself in potentially a bit of a , "oh heck i messed up" situation i have now read all too many of. So i figured id sign up and post a add for help.

ok, let me first get a few base lines out of the way and begin the story. Started my first tank (55g) on April 25th, fish less cycle with bio-s (BB that are supposed to cycle tank in 2 weeks,will confirm name/brand tonight) from a reputable lfs and cycled the tank for 2 weeks.....all looked good and cycled based on the no amm, and having a n03 reading. I then added in 3 rosy barbs and 2 tetra glofish. all was good. pwc and cleanings and all was still good.

Now fast forward to June 23. Mind you that i have become totally engrossed in the hobby. The tank was initially for my kids (glo fish tank) but i have always loved aquariums so i may have gotten a bit cocky and foolish because............I then added TSS and 5 glo danois, 3 more glo tetras and 6 glo tiger barbs.

I think....based on the api test kit readings yesterday, that the TSS has failed. Friday was day 14 and the ammonia readings seemed to have been locked at about 1.5ppm (no n02, not much if any n03) for the entire two week period (yes i was testing.....i had to.....right? lol).

Saturday the ammonia seemed to spike to maybe 2ppm. last night to maybe 2.5/3. I tossed in another bottle of TSS last night in a panic and am just not sure what to do now. wait?

some details about the filtration and what i have on hand for options.

rena xp3 canister filter. ceramic rings and sponge filters and some carbon, nothing fancy pretty much stock. added in a smaller sponge filter on 7-2.