Newbie Looking For Best Equipment

Discussion in 'Plant CO2' started by Zai, Jun 4, 2019.

1. Zai

ZaiWell Known MemberMember

So I'm setting up a 50 gal and am considering adding co2.
    However as the title hints, I'm a newbie with co2 and know nothing about it.
    What would be the best equipment that doesnt cost a fortune and is easy to set up/use?
    I dont want to mess it up and kill my fish lol.

Any tips and suggestions for me?

2. DutchAquarium

DutchAquariumWell Known MemberMember

Look at the systems they use for beer, it's much cheaper when they aren't marketed towards pets. i currently run a 10 gallon cylinder and i have to fill it up every 6 months for about 8 bucks at almost any liquor store. you need a cylinder, a regulator, a check valve, co2 diffuser, co2 checker, and solenoid valve is optional.

3. Awaken_Riceball_

Awaken_Riceball_Valued MemberMember

Your Options are:
    • Liquid CO2 ($)
    • DIY Yeast and Sugar ($$)
    • Pressurized CO2 ($$$$ - $$$$$)
    Which option do you prefer to go with?

4. OP
    OP
    Zai

Probably liquid co2 because im on a budget. i can buy things slowly over a few months and then set it all up later.
    though probably would end up with what costs less in the long run-
    liek spend $$$ now but over all end up spending $ for upkeep

5. Awaken_Riceball_

Awaken_Riceball_Valued MemberMember

Understood, thank you for your response! For now, I recommend to go with Seachem Excel. It is around $10 for 500ml. If you want to save up for a pressurized CO2 setup by purchasing a little bit over time, then here is a topic I posted a long time ago on what you will need. I strongly recommend not to cheap out on CO2 regulator, it is the most critical component of a pressurized CO2 setup and very expensive. Just something to keep in mind as you save up :) I hope this helps!

6. Wraithen

WraithenFishlore VIPMember