Newbie Just Bought Established Tank.

skaffen
HI there

I've just got an established tank from a friend who's gone overseas. I'm new to this and have a few questions. OK, I lied, I have tons of questions, but I'll try not to ask too many at once

First up, am I overstocked? I have an 85 L tank with:

5 Tiger Barbs
5 Rummy Nose Tetras
1 Silver Shark (11 cm)
1 Red Finned Black Shark (8cm)
1 Golden Gourami
1 Orange Platy
1 Siamese Flying Fox
1 Red Spot Pleco (tiny)

My other question is, I change 20 L per week, vacuuming gravel as I go, is that about right? Should I get a test kit and change water based on nitrate levels rather than changing an arbitrary amount each week? Everything seems to be thriving so I'm inclined to keep going as is.

Observations - I've read up on these fish, and I'm quite surprised at how well they get along. Black shark seems to rule the tank, but he keeps to himself most of the time - hanging out in his hollow log when he's not feeding. The barbs squabble among themselves occasionally, but the leave the other fish alone. Golden Gourami occasionally hassles Silver Shark, especially when he's making clicking noises gulping water at the surface.

This is way more fun that I thought it would be!

susitna-flower
WELCOME TO FISHLORE, SKAFFEN!

You have a lovely looking tank, the biggest problem I see is that it is stocked too heavily. You have enough fish there for a 55 gallon tank AT least! If your silver shark is a bala, and by its description it is....needs a tank that is 72"...they grow over 12" and need others of their own kind....The redtail shark will continue to rule the roost, and eventually there will be problems between these two as the redtail will not tolerate another fish of similar shape.

The rest sound good in numbers etc, except as I said they should be in a larger tank.