Newbie Here!

1. Stacie H. Initiate Member

Hi!

My husband surprised me today with a 36 gallon tank! We'd been talking about getting a tank for awhile, and have a corner of our living room that needed something in it. I have always loved tropical fish, and had a small tank once before when I was about 11 or 12. We lived in Indonesia at the time, and you could buy the most beautiful tropical fish there at stands on the side of the road. But that was sooo long ago, so I definitely consider myself a newbie! ;D

So, I have some questions....

DH got the tank, filter, thermometer, and a book titled "Aquariums for Dummies." I plan to go out tomorrow and get the rock, plants, etc., and get the tank up and running.

1) He did not buy a pump. Should I get a pump?
    2) Plants....live or plastic? I like the idea of live plants, but being a newbie, I'm a bit hesitant.
    3) How long to run the tank prior to adding fish? The lady at PetSmart told DH run it for 2 weeks. And that's fine with me. But reading through my book a bit, plus a few info sheets he picked up at the store, I've seen everything from 2 days to one week.

Suggestions?

Thanks!!

2. Marc Well Known Member Member

1. What kind of filter do you have? A large enough power filter is often enough to aerate a tank if it isn't overstocked.
    2. Live plants are GREAT! They are easy to take care of - try a hardy species like Java Fern. If possible, buy one attached to a piece of driftwood otherwise you will need to put sand in the bottom.

3. Well, how soon to put fish in depends on how you want to cycle it.
    https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

Using fish is the fastest method and takes as little as 2-3 days. The safe way, however, is to let the bacteria develop and can take amount of time. Live plants will make it a tad safer for fish (but not much)

Also, if you pick out a few fish you'd like or what you'd like in fish, we can help you pick out what to get :)

3. Jon Well Known Member Member