Newbie here wanting some nasty fish for 10 gallon!

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by CanKor, Dec 24, 2012.

1. C

CanKor New Member Member

Hmm... so with my 10 gallon I was thinking that I could put some nasty predatory fish in.
    Nasty fish seems to have more personality(intelligence) ... and personality is what I'm looking for lol
    I'm only willing to keep 1 predatory fish if possible. I'd prefer my new fish to be catfish or puffer type but I kinda already have set up my aquarium with a driftwood, anubias, and moss balls so I'm not sure if brackish conditions would suit be suitable.

BTW I mean nasty predatory fish by fish that can at least eat an adult guppy lol

ANY SUGGESTIONS??? BTW MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:;santaclaus:;shat:;snow

Last edited: Dec 24, 2012
  2. Jaysee

Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

Unfortunately, the fish you want to keep require much bigger than a 10 gallon.

3. OP
    OP
    C

CanKor New Member Member

I mean there must be some :( I absolutely love predatory catfish...

4. bankruptjojo

bankruptjojo Fishlore VIP Member

betta fish can eat a guppy lol, maybe not whole...

catfish like that will need a 55g.

can a leaf fish go in a 10g? they are predators right? never kept them so...

5. Jaysee

There is no predatory catfish that belongs in such a tiny tank. It really is small - about as small as it gets. Get a 20 long and you could get a golden wonder killi. They are like mini arowanas and are voracious predators.

The leaf fish are not very active, but they still get pretty big - bigger than a 10. I know the African leaf fish for sale at petsmart are really small but they grow to more than 4 inches in just a couple of years. The true leaf fish - the SA ones, will only eat live foods and are very challenging to keep.