Newbie here to learn about fishkeeping!

samuraikitty7

Hi, everyone, thanks for letting me join. I'm a 51 yo single female who has had to move back in with her folks to care for them, and I tried and tried to stay away from those cups of Bettas at the pet store, wound up doing a lot of online research and found out how to really care for a betta, and a new thing to me....shrimp!

So a couple of months ago I did the newbie thing...got a ten-gallon aquarium and ordered a betta from a company online. Went to buy supplies for the betta on its way, bought a blue mystery snail and another betta male while there! We connected, honestly! So then, well, had to buy a 5 gallon for that fish. He's got a major attitude, that one, so after giving him to my mom, his name is Bruce. He's a king betta. I also bought some cherry shrimp, not understanding the nitrogen cycle or new tank syndrome or live plants or any of that. So, yeah, didn't go well. I lost all my cherries but one. I do have some funny and awesome ghost shrimp, who don't seem to bother the little cherry.

When Jude, my betta, showed up, it was the wrong fish. Not what I had ordered. The company was horrified and refunded me all my money, and I decided at that time to keep and love Jude. He's a blue-green rosetail/veiltail and he definitely struggles with his long, curling fins. He doesn't swim much, which is so sad. In comparison, my mom's king betta has NO issues swimming all over like a normal fish.