Newbie here saying hi with some questions in mind!

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by CanKor, Dec 23, 2012.

1. C

CanKor New Member Member

Heyy What's up everyone! Happy early Christmas!
    My exam ended yesterday (Talk about fluid mechanics o_O... Yep! I'm a 2nd year chemical engineering student!!!) and I can focus on aquarium now! yay!!!
    I am a completely newbie and so excited about keeping tropical fish as my hobby!
    BTW, any other engineers out here? Just curious :)
    Thank you!!! :;santaclaus

Last edited: Dec 23, 2012
  2. monkeypie102

monkeypie102 Well Known Member Member

Welcome to fishlore :)

From what i have read so far you catfish should grow to be about 18+ inches and should be kept in water that is about 75-80*... I am sorry I am not sure what the conversions are for the temp and inches :/ also if you can get a much larger tank (55-65g?) Other wise I would just give him/her back to the lfs...

As for mean little predtor fish I would say something like puffer are the way to go :) from what i have read they are crazy lil guys, plus I am not sure what kinds of catfish are predetors and stay small...

Plant wise my 10g is home to a colony of mystery snails and Japanese snails (will be moving to the pond this spring) and my juvie betta boy (unnamed) anyways it is very low light and currently has ludwigia, Java ferns, rotala, pennywort, and some stray duckweed that I need to remove... it also is housing 10 red mangroves until i have the 29g ready to take them :) however my 29 has all those plants plus mini coral moss, Christmas moss, a red lily, mondo grass, microsword, aspognom (I spell that wrong every time), dwarf sag, and ancoris (spelled that wrong also) so just from that you could have a heavily planted tank (oh I forgot anubias eyes and onion plant as well)

Switch to the API master liquid test kit... much more reliable and you get 500+ tests instead of the 25 strips... though more expensive in the end it is worth it!