Newbie Here: DIY LED 5050 48" 75Gal Lid

Denards

Reaction score
Hey all,

New here but happy to be .... So I'll start off by saying what I have and what I know (even its it may be wrong aha)

-CURRENT Set Up-

*20 Gal Aqua build (aquarium set)
*1 bushynose pleco
*5 white tipped tetras
*5 fancy guppies
*1 spiny tailed eel
*1 red tail shark (on sale I HAD to get him )
*Lightly planted

Now I know this tank is REALLY small for 3 of those fish hence the upgrade to a 75 gallon..

-UPGRADING TO-

*75 Gallon tank
*Glass sliding lid
*Heater
*120 HOB filter

What I want to do is create my own lighting by using...

*4ft piece of Rain gutter
*2 (two) 4ft parrallel 1" PVC pipe
*2 (two) 5M rolls 5050 RGB LED

***Purpose of this***

I currently have a teenesy 3.1 micro controller with a program I wrote that controlled the lighting to resemble realistic lighting to the exact time of day.

**My Question**

Will 5050 RGB LEDs be bright enough, in the right spectrum, and expose enough blues and reds for GREEN plants to thrive?

Or should I go with the very bright 5630 LEDs Cool white only..

**LEDs to Buy**

http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00KBPZJBO/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_awdl_2Uf6wbFEYGPMW

Thanks for any advice..

ejohnson

Valued Member
Reaction score
When I did my ardunio controlled sunrise sunset led system, I used a small rgb section, then a bunch of while LEDs.

I then just used a function that raises the light level of the white gradually with the rgb ones.

This results in a full on white at daytime, then the rgb pretty much takes over for the sunrise sunset part and for the moon light.

It's nice with just the small rgb section, because then just a part of the tank is sunrise sunset and Moon. Instead of the whole tank colored by the rgb.

Denards

Reaction score
I used a small rgb section, then a bunch of while LEDs.

I then just used a function that raises the light level of the white gradually with the rgb ones.