Newbie Fish Owner Question

ASHLEY R COOK

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Alright over the weekend I got my fish fish. Yay!
I bought three gold panda mollies.
One male and two female.
They all have been acting about the same and I've been giving them space while still watching them.
My question is about the behavior of the male Molly.
He used to slowly explore and swim with the girls but he has been hiding for over 24 hrs. I've spotted him twice but he doesnt swim around anymore.
Is this bc he's new? He wasn't like this when he first came. He was swimming around slowly and even stating around with the girls.
I see the girls all day. They all still prefer to swim in the back and I know they're new and scared but I'm a newb and concerned about the male.

kayla.s

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Congrats on the fish!
Is there enough adequate hiding space? Plants and what not will make the fish feel more at ease. Otherwise give it a week and see if the issue still persists

GreekGills

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
When I first added my barbs, they just glass surfed all the time. As a noob myself, I had that concerned feeling as well, but it seems they were just testing out their new environment. After a day or so they were off exploring and establishing the hierarchy(so much fun to watch)with no more surfing.

He's just being a shy guy in his new abode

Tommy1284

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I think each fish is different. I’ve had some that adapt to there New Home in hours and others that take a few days. As long as all your water parameters are checking out I think your fine

Nicole B

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
ASHLEY R COOK said:
Alright over the weekend I got my fish fish. Yay!
I bought three gold panda mollies.
One male and two female.
They all have been acting about the same and I've been giving them space while still watching them.