Help New to this - Betta Fighter chasing Honey Gourami....any advice?

krissy86

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi everyone!

I'm very new to the whole hobby and have had my tank running for over 3 weeks.

I have a 130L tank and began with 5 neon tetras which all seem perfectly
happy besides 1 that hides ALOT (any known reason for this?...I'm very keen to know why!)

This weekend, my local aquatic store tested the water and various levels. They were happy with the results and therefore I bought a zebra danio, 1 honey gourami and a betta fighter. The guys at the shop appeared to think this would be a good match so off we went and got them settled
The gourami was pretty nervous from the start but now he's kinda bobbing at the top behind the spray bar or he's hiding behind the plants as my betta seems to be chasing him an awful lot.

I've just noticed an article that stated that bettas often confuse gourami's for their own kind....is this true?!

I've asked my bro-in-law (also a freshwater keeper) for some advice but he's said just to see how they get on over the next couple of days as the betta may be stating his position in the tank.

I'm just a little worried that if I leave it another couple of days, the gourami will be mega stressed or worse be injured by the betta. I'd rather keep the gourami as he's a rather peaceful little soul where as the betta tends to chase my neons but doesn't seem to be bothered by the danio?!

Any advice or info would really be great.

Thanks,

Krissy

jerilovesfrogs

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
welcome! yeah that's a bad mix you have. betta will prob kill the honey. and he may be nipped by the neons as well. i would either take the betta back, or get him in his own tank. bettas don't do well in community tanks. sorry to say!

Meenu

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
1 year