New to the Forum

GarfieldsLibrary

Hello! I'm excited to join and get more into aquariums and keeping fish. I am new to this and have made mistakes and will likely continue if I don't get some guidance, so here I am!
I currently have three tanks (this hobby got out of hand very quickly for me, but in a good way). I have a 40 gallon tank with a snail and 2 goldfish (1 comet that is 6" and a fantail that is about 2") the fantail is currently in a baby basket because the comet was nibbling his fins, I would love to find a way to stop this, but I'm unsure what to do. I would like to get other fish in this tank but I'm learning that goldfish need a ton of space so I'm curious what could live with them peacefully in this much space. I also have two 10 gallon tanks, one of them houses a beta and a few snails, I'm hoping to add some tetras if that is enough space. The other tank I just got and I'm letting it cycle before I consider what to do with it but I'm in love with the idea of mollies, would this be enough space for them? All of the tanks are currently about 72 degrees, is this alright? I'm super excited to learn more and I would love some help!

BigManAquatics

Welcome! I would do warmer for the betta, they prefer it usually around 78-80. 72 is fine for the goldfish though. Probably don't even need a heater for that tank unless your house gets down really cold in winter.

CrackerboxPalace

Welcome to fishlore :)

There are a few things you could add to a goldfish tank. Some people would say you can add certain corydoras that tolerate cold water, like peppered corys. I would figure out a new situation for the comet first, since it will require something like 75+ gallons at full size. At 8 inches+ it could also eat a lot of tankmates you might consider adding.