New To The Fish World! Help With The Process

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by BLagBolivianRam, Apr 13, 2018.

1. B

BLagBolivianRam New Member Member

Hey all, I'm brand new to the fish world and Ive noticed this forum has tons of information so I wanted to join the community. I learned about the cycling process just recently, and I'm currently in the beginning stages of it. I went to my LFS (I believe that stands for local fish store?! haha) and was told to do a fish-in cycle because this speeds up the cycling process. They told me to use Stress Zyme and Stress Coat weekly and to double the doses the first two weeks so really kickstart the process.

My situation: I have a 37 g tank, set it up on Wednesday 4/11, so its been running for 3 days now. The second day I added the fish, 5 green swordtails because I was told these guys are hardy fish and will possibly survive the cycling process.

I recently checked my parameters: ph 7.0, Ammonia 0ppm, Nitrite 0ppm, Nitrate 0ppm. I don't have tests for my hardness.

So I guess I want to make sure I'm doing everything right, if the info I was fed from my LFS is accurate, how long the process will tank to complete the cycling, what else I could be doing, are those two chemicals I was told to use good or bad?

Hope to hear from you guys!

Thank you :)

2. Little John

Little John Valued Member Member

it could take 5 to 6 weeks

3. CraniumRex

CraniumRex Well Known Member Member

I would change the water conditioner to Seachem Prime or Ammo lock personally. This product can detoxify the ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates in the water and give the fish in there the best chance of survival.

I’m not against fish-in cycling per se but not a fan of sacrificing lives to do it.

Welcome. You have come to a great place.

4. OP
    OP
    B

Do these just make the toxic levels safer for the fish to survive, but allow it to be consumed by the BB?