New to the fish game

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by LorenHusky, Jan 1, 2013.

1. LorenHuskyValued MemberMember

Hello to everybody from Ohio! My brother gave me a 20 gallon tall tank. I got a fluorescent hood, a Marine-land Penguin 100GPH Biowheel filter, a Tetra HT30 heater, and a CoraLife temperature probe. I'm a total newb when it comes to tanks but I understand the nitrogen cycle for the most part. I don't know if it was the greatest idea or not, but I plopped a Betta in the tank to kick start the cycle. I figured a fish that breathes regular air and lives in mud puddles would be a pretty good fish for cycling. I know a lot of people are doing fishless cycles now but given the conditions I've seen Bettas in before I think it will be ok. I don't know if the lone Betta will present enough bio load to help cycle the tank.

Also my Tetra 30 Gallon submersible heater cannot seem to get my tank above 76 degrees. It's 100 watt, and is supposed to be preset to 78 +/- 2 degrees. This seems awfully low to me, is this an acceptable temperature? I think once the tank cycles I'm going to get 5 or 6 Zebra Danios.

Last edited: Jan 1, 2013
  2. MagooFishlore VIPMember

Hello and welcome to fishlore :)

Congratulations on your new tank I would like to make a couple of suggestions :)

Firstly I wouldn't do a fish in cycle with a betta without using tetra safe start I have used it successfully many times and your tank will be cycled in around about two weeks. I can tell you how to use it if you like :)

Secondly I wouldn't get danios they are hectic fast swimmers and also fin nippers and I am afraid your betta would be harrassed and very unhappy, if you are wanting to add more fish I would choose a more peaceful kind but as your betta is already in the tank this may prove difficult.

Some guys on here have successful community tanks which include bettas but bettas can turn violent very quickly and usually without any warning.