New to the board, need some pointers.

lauscho

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Travis, I live in Canada. I'm a musician and anime fan.

Today, I decided to buy a betta. A cute little blue one which I named Loki (after the mythical being of mischief in Norse mythology).

At the pet store, one of the employees told me that a fishbowl would be enough. Something like this:

36.jpg

I already had one problem. My mom decided that "24 hours is too long of a wait and I'll just stick the fish in tapwater now". I'm worried that he'll get sick or possibly die soon. I wish to quell that fear ASAP. Apparently, our town's water supply uses less chlorine than our old town when we used to have goldfish. My mom tells me "they're the same thing".

Now, after reading up on them, I find that I'm also using unfiltered, room-temperature water, and too small of a tank. I have a feeling that I was pretty much ripped off, since it was a clearance sale at the pet store, and they likely wanted to unload as much as they could. But reading all these betta care sites has me worried about the poor little guy.

I hope I didn't just turn a potential best friend into $20 sushi

BettaBuddy ~ Miley

Well Known Member
Reaction score
i have a betta whos in a 1.5 gallon tank - thats too small mine and yours.

1. you NEED a lid!! betta do jump! go here -

2. too small to be heated and filtered so get at least a 5 gal

3. you need to do a water change (50%) EVERYDAY until you get a new tank - to keep water warm and clean.

4. well i am no expert but i do know these are right - maybe Chickadee or someone can give you better advice

lol - Miley

Phloxface

Well Known Member
Reaction score