New to SW- what substrate and a dead live rock

Discussion in 'Saltwater Aquarium Setup' started by Sturty, Dec 11, 2012.

1. SturtyValued MemberMember

Ive been offered two clown fish and some unidentified black coloured fish from the local pet store that closing.
    Ive got till saturday to set up my 200L tank.
    Quick history- im new to fish keeping but i learn quickly.
    The four fish have been tank mates for almost a year in a 100L tank and the tank contains live rock.

Heres my three questions
    1. What substrate can i use? I love very inland so i can only used bagged substrate. The current tank has fine rocks (not sand) that i'll use to cycle the tank to start with.

2. The store owner (doesnt know anything) says the live rock is dead? Is that possible? Its still in use in the tank with the fish. If it is possible how to i "fix" it.

3 im currently setting up 100L of water be adding salt and heating the water. I'll be adding the water from their current tank to make 200L- what is the ideal salinity and water temp for a clown fish?

2. EiennaFishlore VIPMember

I would purchase some Bio-Spira (same as Tetra Safe Start, only for saltwater, and sold under the Instant Ocean brand name.)

The organisms in the live rock could be dead, yes, but the Bio-Spira should replace those organisms. I'd still put the rock in the tank for them to colonize. Keep it wet in case some of it has survived.

Beyond that, I do not know.

3. ryanrModeratorModerator Member

Hi Sturty,
    I'm not sure we can get Bio Spira here :( Most bacteria supplements don't make it past our strict Quarantine (AQIS) requirements. And I'm pretty sure Dr Tims One and Only is not available either.

I know you want to do the right thing, but please, take the time to read and understand SW systems. A SW system bought on "impulse" is destined for disaster (IMO). Read the stickies in the SW beginners section here, I have written a 3 part guide to setting up the system.