New to snails

Discussion in 'Snails' started by marina3, Mar 31, 2010.

1. m

marina3 Valued Member Member

Hi guys!

I have a 3 gal Eclipse tank at work with a little betta in it. My office has bright lights, plus the light in the lid of the tank has produce ( in my oopinion) the culpit for some brown patches on my fake planrs, gravel and decor as well as little patches on the glass. Do you think that introducing a snail will be benefitial? I am learning about them and the only thing I don't have very clear (or I do but i cannot believe it) is that they can reproduce even though may only be ONE snail in the tank?
    Could you clarify and advise me what type of snail can I introduce to a 3gal tank (if any)? I read that the nerite snail is good choice for algae control!
    :;thx

2. jerilovesfrogs

jerilovesfrogs Fishlore VIP Member

hi, i am new to snails as well.....i have done some research....but now i'm confused in a recent finding myself! i read "apple" snails grow very large, but mystery snails, which are a kind of apple, but are smaller, don't grow as big. but then i just read the mystery can grow as large as a golf ball! :eek: i love all the colors you can get, pink, blue, purple, magenta etc.....but i just can't think who can actually have one in their tank that is the size of a golf ball!

3. Elodea

Elodea Well Known Member Member

Okay, to clear up all this confusion (I got confused, too):

Apple Snails

Can grow up to the size of a baseball. They mercilessly devour any live plants as well as fish food in the tank, but completely ignore algae and diatoms.

All mystery snails are apple snails, but not all apple snails are mystery snails. Think of it like: all cichlids are fish but not all fish are cichlids. In other words, mystery snails are a type of apple snail. However, the term "apple snail" usually goes to the species that grows very large.

Mystery Snails