New To Saltwater! What Size Tank Should I Get?

Discussion in 'Saltwater Aquarium Builds' started by MinorMiner, Nov 24, 2018.

1. MinorMiner

MinorMinerNew MemberMember

Hello! It's Mat again. I'm going to start a saltwater tank soon, and I'm curious of what size tank I should get. I'm not planning to get a giant tank, but I've also heard that smaller tanks are harder to manage, b/c of the unstable water parameters. I'm new to saltwater, so I'm not sure what to get. Thanks!

2. DutchAquariumWell Known MemberMember

30 gallons is a good size that you can make some mistakes on, but it's not overly big. Saltwater isn't necesarily hard, just different.

3. OP
    OP
    MinorMiner

MinorMinerNew MemberMember

Thanks! I'll look into it. Any size references?

4. david1978

david1978Fishlore VIPMember

What you plan to put in the tank would help decide on tank measurements. If you want a lot of corals and things like that a frag tank may be a good option. Fish only it doesn't matter as much as the depth for lighting is taken away but swimming space still needs to be considered.

5. PoorBigBlue

PoorBigBlueValued MemberMember

Well, you want a tank that's big enough to allow for a bit of error, and small enough to not be overwhelming. I'd personally recommend a 20 long, since that'll allow you to keep a few fish, and allow enough dilution to not be a hassle.

6. Jesterrace

JesterraceWell Known MemberMember

Honestly it all depends on what you want to do or are willing to do. I recommend spending some time taking a look around