New to Saltwater aquarium - 20 gallon

macullit

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to Saltwater aquarium.

I have a 20 gallon that I would like setup as Reef with Fish. So far I am into 4th week of cycling my new tank. I have the following:

Live Sand
10lbs of live rocks added another 10 lbs of dry live rocks.
2 - blue green chromis.

In first 2 week period, I did a test. Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate are all 0ppm

In the third week, I added couple of blue-green chromis just to start the cyle or spike up my ammonia(as I am told it would be okay), I am in my 4th week now, and reading ammonia at .25ppm, Nitrite and Nitrate are 0ppm

Does this mean that my cycling is actually starting now, if yes, when(how man days/weeks) should I see the Nitrite to go up? How many days/weeks does Nitrite be in my tank before Nitrate shows up?

Also I've been toping up my tank with Tap water, with Seachem Prime and Stability, with 1.025 Salinity.

Any feedback would be great!

Thanks.

Coradee

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to Fishlore, hope our salty members can help with your questions today

DaddyDeet

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I, personally, wouldnt do fish during cycle..I prefer to do fishless so I can control as much of the process as possible. I use ammonium chloride as the food source for vacteria, and add bottled nitrifying bacteria to start the process.
That being said, if you've got livestock in there, you're doing the right thing by using prime. It will at least take the toxicity out of the ammonia and forthcoming nitrite.
Nitrite will show up first, and then nitrate afterward. Once your nitrite spikes and goes back to zero (the LONGEST) part of the process, you're usually good to go. Patience is the key, and your process has started, so it will happen in time.