New to salt water hobby..hello...cant seem to cycle..nitrates wont go down..been over a month

knation

Reaction score
Hi there, I am brand new to the salt water hobby so so eager to get things going. I have made many posts in the nano room and seems they dont like me in there! haha. I feel I was getting a lot of bad advice and being picked on. I was told not to keep adding ammonia and I havt done a thing but a water change and then added bacteria, because I wasnt getting anywhere

I had many delays and bad mistakes made. Son was hospitalized for almost 2 weeks the day after I set it up. Thank God he is fine but i just left it alone and dint do anything. I was to busy worrying about him and staying there with him. After that my LFS did my firs test she said I was high on nitrates and amina and nitrites and to do a water change. I dont thing she knows much other than ammonia and nitrites should be 0 and that was bad advice. After water change I started testing it and I was at
0.25 amonia
5.0 nitrite
40 nitrate. I think I was about 4.0 ammonia or less when she told me to change water. This was 3 weeks into cycle. I feel if I would have left it alone I would be cycled. I then added biospiria because my numbers just stayed the same for 6 days in a row. Nothing happened then either so I added ammonia after reading I should have been dosing to 2.0 all along after nitrates.