New To Live Plants. I Need Help...

1. TaDah

TaDah Valued Member Member

Good evening :)
    So, im new to all the planted tank stuff. heres whats going on.. the leaves on my smaller Amazon Swords (purchased at Petsmart in those tuby things) are turning slightly yellow and transparent. i got them about 2 weeks ago (maybe 1.5). i just added 2 larger amazon swords to fill up the tank a bit more as they are bigger and taller (these i got from a LFS and they were already in a tank). i did have to move a couple of the smaller ones around around a little today to fit the bigger ones and they had nice new roots growing and a little bit of new leave growth.
    my anubias nana seems to be doing well, no issues there so far.
    i also have 2 stalks of a plant called Ribbon something (i cant remember im so sorry) and that one seems to be doing okay but the tips are turning lightly yellow/brown.

I put root tabs near every plant thats in there unless there are 2 close together i only put 1. they are the API root tabs.

my water parameters are:
    pH: 8.0 (we have hard water here that i try to add conditioners to help soften. i even have a water softner)
    ammonia: 0
    nirtite: 0
    nitrate: 5ppm
    temp: 78.4 F
    sand substrate

i only have 8 tiger barbs which 6 i added today (the first 6 i got at petsmart and all had a nasty case of mouth rot so all but 2 were saved from that mess) the 6 i got today was from an actual aquarium store. same place i got my 2 large amazon swords.

i have a Hydor 250 canister filter. have the return water set to make a decent current in the tank.

my light is a Finnex 24/7 planted+ on my 55 gal tank (4' wide 2' tall)
    should i have the light on MAX during most of the day then put it into the 24 hour cycle for the evenings? maybe running the 24 hour cycle they arent getting enough light for a long enough period?

Im hoping i have left enough info to help figure out whats going on. any help is very much accepted :)

2. dcutl002