New to lighting

Discussion in 'Saltwater Aquarium Lighting' started by Theman1, Aug 6, 2015.

1. Theman1Valued MemberMember

Hi everyone, I'm planning on setting up my first fowlr tank on a 40 gall on breeder. The other day I traded for this light. I traded a 29 gallon tank that I had. What can I do with this light? It is an evergreen 156watt leds. Currently i am only going to do fowlr but would like to have corals.

Any input would be appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2018
  2. AquaticBrandonWell Known MemberMember

You traded a tank for that light? That's a good deal. That light should grow a few good corals

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

3. Theman1Valued MemberMember

Ya haha. I figured it was a good deal. He was asking $50.00 but he said he would trade for the 29 gallon. I paid $29.00 for the tank at petco. I'm glad it will grow some corals. Like I said I'm brand new to saltwater. Right now I'm trying to gather all of my equipment.

4. AquaticBrandonWell Known MemberMember

Nice! Well you're all set for lighting :). I want a similar fixture like that one for my reef

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

5. Theman1Valued MemberMember

Nice I guess I got a pretty sweet deal then haha.

6. SlugWell Known MemberMember

Is it white and blue LEDs or full spectrum? Guessing white and blue by the double switches and knobs on top. Seems like a pretty good trade to me on the surface, don't know much at all about that light specifically though. But considering you can find another 29gal for less than $50 if you needed I'd say its a good deal. Looks dimmable so that's a good thing.

7. Theman1Valued MemberMember

I believe it is full spectrum. It has blue,viiolet,white, neutral white,warm white,deep red and green.

8. SlugWell Known MemberMember