New To Hobby...

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Jennywren89, Apr 17, 2018.

1. Jennywren89

Jennywren89New MemberMember

I'm just looking for a bit of advice. I have a small 6 gallon tank which cycled for three weeks with both an air stone and a small filter before I added two Platies - I know they're supposed to be in small groups, but I wanted to introduce slowly. I'm currently struggling a little with ammonia, but have it under control with daily water changes, and I'm hoping the tank will settle. My question is will I be able to add more platies given that the tank is quite small? I currently have one blue female and one sunset male, and they seem to be getting along quite well together.
    Any advice would be great, I am brand new to this hobby and I don't want to mess up, I'm already quite attached to them both!

2. Esimm03

Esimm03Well Known MemberMember

Hi,
    I'd say you are at the limit.... A platy's minimum tank size is 10 gallons.
    How good is your filtration, and do you just have mechanical filtration (sponges) or biological aswell (little ceramic or plastic rings)? If you have good filtration and keep up with regular maintenance the two already in there should be ok, hopefully.

If they start looking unwell or unhappy I'd upgrade or re-home them.

I'd also get a second opinion on here, just incase I got any info wrong.

Ethan

3. Culprit

CulpritFishlore VIPMember

A 6 gallon is too small for platies. They are big fish eventually. Guppies or endlers however would work. I would rehome the platies, finish your cycle, then get some endlers or guppies.

Can you tell us how you cycled? What is your filter?

4. OP
    OP
    Jennywren89

I was worried it might be a little small. Pet shops don't care, do they??? They recommended four, three females and a male, but I didn't think the tank was big enough.