Help New To Fishlore!!

Fardin

Reaction score
Hello everyone!! I’m new to Fishlore but not new at all with aquariums. I have a 37 gallon Tropical aquarium, my aquarium is not at its best looks right now but I will be redecorating with many new aquarium plants!!

I do have a problem however, one of my swordtails area wider than usual and have a dark spot close to their anus now I thought they could be pregnant and a local Petco employee told me there’s a high chance it’s pregnant. Now I’ve seen many videos which describe symptoms of your fish being pregnant and all stuff like that now I need someone’s advice if my swordtail is pregnant. Thanks!!
IMG_0669.jpg
IMG_0670.jpg

Fardin

Reaction score
Thanks!!

But do you have any idea if my fish is pregnant because I think it is. Hopefully it is lol

kallililly1973

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Welcome. Judging from the fan shaped analfin ( female ) and being a livebearer. There is a 99.99999% chance it is in fact pregnant. Not sure how far along she is but i'm sure it's only a matter of time. Good luck!!

Fardin

Reaction score
Do you have males and females together? If so, she's probably pregnant.
I do have a male swordtail and the male and female are always together.

Welcome. Judging from the fan shaped analfin ( female ) and being a livebearer. There is a 99.99999% chance it is in fact pregnant. Not sure how far along she is but i'm sure it's only a matter of time. Good luck!!
Thanks!!!

Everyone I also put her in a net breeder just in case she does give birth.

max h

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Everyone I also put her in a net breeder just in case she does give birth.
That can be hit and miss for a while if she gives birth soon. She could be weeks away from that, the breeder net would drive her crazy. I have plenty of swordtail fry and all the fry are born in the main tank and stay there until they get given away. Livebearers can overrun a tank quickly.

Fardin