New To Fishlore And Freshwater Goby!!!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Gobies' started by Cookie_goby, Apr 16, 2017.

1. C

Cookie_goby New Member Member

Hallo from Canada I am new to the freshwater goby and have some question about them. I just recently bought two pair of stiphodon percnopterygionus (gold neon dwarf goby) but one female died after two days. My question is how can I get these guys to eat prepare food like frozen food or algae wafers?

2. Zerologist

Zerologist Well Known Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore!

3. Sarcasm Included

Sarcasm Included Well Known Member Member

They don't eat algae wafers, they eat biofilm and the only prepared that they tend to eat is Repashy Solient Green. They are hill stream species and really need higher circulation of water than normal freshwater tanks. They also need to be crystal clear water with good algae growth on the rocks, they like lots of rocks.

4. FishL:))

FishL:)) Well Known Member Member

Hello and welcome to FishLore @Cookie_goby !! We are glad to have you! :)

5. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to Fishlore!

If you just got her, she wouldn't have starved to death in two days. If she hadn't eaten before you got her, that might have been an issue.

Just to double check, what are your water parameters (pH, temp, ammonia, nitrites, nitrates)?

6. OP
    OP
    C

I saw a video on that showing they are eating a tablet that looks like algae. Anyway should I remove two of the sae so the goby can have more food to eat in the tank

I just got them for 6 days now I only seen them grazing on my lava rocks, driftwoods, glass, and gravel. My tank been running for 4 months now so therw is no ammonia and nitrities but nitrates is about 9ppm. Temp is 77.5 and ph is 7.2.

Thank you

Thank you

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 18, 2017
  7. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

What size tank, and what fish do you have in it?

8. OP
    OP
    C