New to fish tanks.

Fishtanker

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi all , I am very new to the hobby and I had been reading about fishes and setting up the tank.

I finally got the 10 gallon acquariu. And I want to set it up as freshwater tropical.
I have decorated it and now will add water and start my cycle by adding liquid ammonia.

Wish me luck !!

Thanks

Nick G

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hi Fishtanker, Welcome to Fishlore! Congrats on cycling fishless! Good Luck!

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to FishLore!!
Good luck with the cyling, glad to hear you're going fish less.

ryanr

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hey there. Welcome to fishlore

Congrats on the fishless cycle. Just be sure that the liquid ammonia is PURE ammonia, with no surfactants/detergents. I believe the ACE brand is one that is recommended in the US.

Don't forget to use a dechlorinator

Enjoy the hobby - we're all here to help.

And as one last note, be sure to use a liquid test kit such as the API master kit to measure your parameters. Test strips can be very in-accurate.

AlyeskaGirl

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Hello & Welcome!

Fishtanker

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Thanks everybody !!

Yes, I got the pure liquid ammonia from ace hardware. I have the strip tests but thanks for the tip, will get the API liquid test kit.

Also I don't have chlorine in water but I will add conditioner toot before I set it up for cycling.

Pics to follow !!

Thanks

ryanr

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
you're more than welcome.

If you don't have a water conditioner yet, can I suggest Seachem Prime. It costs a little more, but goes a very long way. 2 drops per gallon

It is a dechlorinator (chlorine, chloramine), as well as de-toxing ammonia and nitrite. Very handy to have around in the event of a mini-cycle.

Fishtanker

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started