New to everything fish

Discussion in 'Welcome to FishLore' started by Hakouna, Jan 4, 2013.

1. HakounaNew MemberMember

Hello, I'm new to everything fish-like: Aquarium care, cycling, fish care, ph, etc.

So I'll just start the story of how I got to where I am in detail. My dad gave me a standard 10 gallon tank, 3 serpae tetras and a plecostomus. I got some small pebble like rocks as the flooring, and 3 plastic plant decorations. This is my first time taking care of fish so I read online about serpae tetras then saw that they needed to stay in schools of 5-6 or more. So I got 3 more. A week later, I noticed my fish not swimming around the middle much but stayed fairly low in the tank. They didn't seem sick, they actually look a lot better than from when I got them from the pet store. Fuller fins and better color. I thought it was the lighting, so I made a light cover to dim the light a bit and moved around the decorations. After that they started to swim around more, even to the top! They seemed fine for awhile, but they were picky about the flakes I gave them. They favored only eatting the red flakes from my multicolored flakes. After some time I went out and got 3 more serpae tetras (9 total) and Omega One Super Color flakes (because they're reddish). Another week passes, I noticed my fish seemed very scared and jumpy. So I made a background out of construction paper so they'd feel more secure and safe. Waited about a week then I changed the rock flooring to some gravel. Now the fish seem to being doing fine, they swim around, and chase each other.