New tank with ICK Question

1. Jrobber

Jrobber Well Known Member Member

Hi, I am a new hobbyist and am having lots of fun setting up my tank and picking out fish I want to have, however I have had a few problems so far and now this one, my black mollies have ICK. I started the tank with four mollies and I am down to two now. I am treating the water with Quick Care (the Aquarium store worker said to use this.) However, he also said to only use it for 5 days, but I have read to continue the treatment for up to two weeks. How long should I continue treatment?

2. benjaminBreaker

benjaminBreaker Valued Member Member

However long it takes, could be a week, could be a month. But after a while you should stop because it could become hazardous to the fish. Personally, I've learned that medications don't always work, and they stain your tank! What I've learned is best to do, is simply turn your heater up to 86 F for about a week, or two if you want to be cautious.
    Mollies will be okay in this temperature, but be sure you do research on your other fish and find out if they can stand this kind of heat

Ich is a parasite, it swims freely in the water until it finds a host, then attaches itself to them. While they are on the fish, you can't hurt them, but after a few days, they detach and fall to the bottom of the tank where they secrete a wall of slime and reproduce into hundreds of more parasites. Then the cycle repeats itself.

When you turn the temperature up, it boosts their immune systems, causing their life cycle to speed up. In about 5 days, the parasites will detach and fall to the bottom to multiply. However, the parasite cannot survive in the hot water, and dies. Be sure to do plenty of water changes, and vacuum the gravel often.