New tank what do these readings mean?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Water' started by fml123denney, Jan 11, 2013.

1. fml123denney

fml123denneyNew MemberMember

I'm rescuing a tank I recently acquired care of. I've never done this before so not confident on my next move. The tank I acquired is a 125 gallon freshwater. 3 fish. 1 id shark. 2 other little fish. No plants. Aqua clear 110 filter. Heater probably doesn't work.

My water readings are:
    PH:7.0
    Kh: 180
    Gh:300
    No2:.5
    No:200

I don't think the water was changed for a while so I've done two 10% water changes in 3 days.. I've read you can shock them with too much fresh water? And should I be using a conditioner for hard water?? Fish seem kinda happy except for Id shark just hides all day. Would plants help stabilize the tank also?? Sorry lots of questions... search only finds so much.

2. Skysong87

Skysong87Valued MemberMember

Firstly, welcome to fishlore!

Now on to the basics: The nitrogen cycle is important! So please click up on the link and have a read about it if you haven't already. If you need something explained further don't hesitate to ask.

A healthy tank has 0ppm of ammonia, 0ppm of nitrite and under 20ppm of nitrate. Anything above 0ppm of ammonia or nitrite is highly toxic to fish while very high nitrates can also be toxic. If the tank you have has 200ppm of nitrate then it most likely has 'old tank syndrome'. This means the last owner obviously did not do many (if any!) water changes to bring nitrates down. The fish in here are now most likely used to the high/toxic levels of nitrate.

So while usually a large water change is healthy for normal tanks, doing a large change now could shock and kill the fish. For example if you we're to do a 50% water change the nitrates would drop from 200 to 100. Such a large drop would not be good! So just continue doing the smaller changes like you are now.