New Tank Setup-Need Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by parvataneni, Mar 18, 2010.

1. p

parvataneni Valued Member Member

Hi All,
    I am new to freshwater Fish tank setup and this hobby,here is the story:
    15 days back i got

1.Fluval Edge 6 Gallons fish Tank Kit
    2.few artifical Plants
    3.Bamboo wall with plant basket ornament.
    4.Tap water conditioner and other liquid came with fish tank
    5.5 small fish not sure whether they are gold fish or some other fish ,fish store person said they cost 10 cents each so gave me 5 of them.
    6.Gravel

I cleaned the tank with water and cleaned gravel and plants, in bucket of water i put tap conditioner and let it go for 2 hrs ,,then later i put fish packet which contains fish i got from store in that bucket and let it go for 30 min later i put all the water from bucket in tank and even put fish in the tank, after a day when i was reading through website then i found i need to do recycling,so far the fish in my tank seems to be okay, here are my questsions

1.Do i need to do recycling now by taking all the fish out or shall i just change water?
    2.Please suggest some freshwater fish which are good for 6 gallon tank, i dont want to keep goldfish in my tank as i heard they neeed lot of maintenancce and cleaning.
    3.Is there anything elsee i have to buy and which are the good products to buy ?

Thanks in advance

praveen

2. f

flyin-lowe Well Known Member Member

The absolute first thing you need to do is read up on the nitrogen cycle.
    To try not to go too long with this. Gold fish are HUGE waste producers and 1 requires at least a 20 gallon tank to live a full and healthy life. So having one in a 6 gallon is not good let alone having this many.