new tank set up, unsure of test results

markymark

Reaction score
hI all,

ive had my tank set up for just over a week now, I added 6 neons yesterday. I am pretty worried I'm going about it wrong though! here is my most recent reading of the water

NO3-20

NO2-0.5

Ph-7.5

KH-240

GH-120

I am still learning here, shouldnt the KH, and GH have altered over the week? this reading infact all readings have stayed the same, nothing has altered. should'nt I have an ammonia test on this kit also??

any help would be greatly appreciated.

mark

griffin

Well Known
Reaction score
an ammonia test would also be good to have. are you using something to speed up your cycle? i'd think that after a week, you shouldn't be as far along in the cycle as your numbers seem to indicate. have you tested your water source to see what those readings are?

kh and gh should not change much if your tank and your water source are the same. most fish like stable levels of kh and gh.

OP
M

markymark

Reaction score
griffin said:
an ammonia test would also be good to have. are you using something to speed up your cycle? i'd think that after a week, you shouldn't be as far along in the cycle as your numbers seem to indicate. have you tested your water source to see what those readings are?

kh and gh should not change much if your tank and your water source are the same. most fish like stable levels of kh and gh.
I have been using something to speed up the cycle yes. I thought the gh and kh would alter a lot more, I soppose that's shows how much I know so far.

griffin

Well Known
Reaction score
I don't think it's good for kh and gh to move around too much. I may be wrong, but I think fish like for those to be stable. i'm not sure how yours rank, but stable is good

Luniyn

Well Known
Reaction score