New Tank Owner!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Substrates - Gravel, Sand' started by tizoclaura, Jul 16, 2015.

1. tizoclauraNew MemberMember

Hello!

I am a new tank owner! The tank has 1 sucker fish and 5 small goldfish, along with a betta buddy (furry green ball). I was told that its like a magnet for debris inside the tank and that the sucker fish can feed off of it as well. The tank was set up on Sunday, July, 12, 2015. I have heard quite a few things about some tabs that are blue that I am suppose to use to keep them healthy and disease free. Also do I need to add drops to stabilize the water if I am using drinking water and not tap? I am new to all this so any information will help. What do I NEED to keep my fish alive and healthy? The materials that I NEED or anything that you would like to give me advice on is greatly appreciated! Can the sucker fish attach itself to a plastic aquarium? My tank is a 6.5 gallon semi-hex shape aquarium by the brand Aqua. What can I do to make the habitat nice and enjoyable for all the fish? Those are all the questions that come to my mind while I type this but like I said anything that I NEEd to know please tell me! image

Thank you,

Laura

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2018
  2. junebug

junebugFishlore LegendMember

Welcome to Fishlore!

If your tank is a 6.5 gallon, you need to return all of your fish. Goldfish, assuming you got fancy goldies, require 20 gallons for the first goldie and an additional 10 gallons for every goldie after that. So for 5 of them, you need at least a 60 gallon tank JUST for the goldfish.

If they are common or comet goldfish, they will require a pond.

Your "sucker fish" is probably a large pleco - many species reach over a foot long, and are massive waste producers. Minimum tank size just for a single common pleco is 75 gallons, and even that is the absolute bare minimum.