New Tank-- Newbie

1. Cathy B Initiate Member

I am brand new to this hobby, and wish I had found this site before starting. By “lurking” here the last few days I have come to these conclusions:
    1. I love it.
    2. I know nothing about it.
    3. Neither does the help at Animal Kingdom where I purchased everything 
    4. I wish I bought a bigger tank
    You can expect to be hearing a lot from me as I go along.
    I did review all beginners’ articles and am now thoroughly overwhelmed. Please forgive me if any of my questions were covered in the articles.
    Here is the information you asked for before I get to my questions.

29 gallon tank

dGH -180 We have hard well water we are in process of changing 20% with distilled -- have to get the distilled on the way home from work today; which is where I am playing here instead of working 
    I was told at Animal Kingdom (from now on to be called AK) that our well water would be fine. No need to do anything but let it sit for a day. WRONG.
    dKH - 240 see above
    Ph – 7.5
    NO2 – 1
    NO3– 40

Bought first after 2 days on the advice of AK
    3 Black Widow Tetra (Gymnocorymbus ternetzi)

Bought following week:
    2 Albino Cory (Corydoras aeneus)

The next week:
    2 Angel Fish (Pterophyllun scalare)

The next:
    2 Red-Tailed Black Shark (Epalzeorhynchos bicolor)

And the next
    1 Blue skirt tetra
    1 Green skirt tetra
    1 pink skirt tetra

Do you think I am still in the nytrogen cycle? Are my fish in danger? I love them already. (They’re named…Do people name there fish?)Should I buy the Tretrasafe Start? Or is it too late.?

2. QQQUUUUAADDD Well Known Member Member

The sharks are not suitable for a 29 gallon. 1 shark alone requires 55 gallons. They are super territorial and agressive.

Start by doing 25 or 50% water changes daily with Prime.
    YOur parameters should be as following for a fully cycled tank:
    Ammonia:0
    NitrIte:0
    NitrAte:20 or less