New Tank Livestock Question

Spencer318

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm pretty new to the hobby and wanted to see how much i could get away with in my new tank. So I have a 60 gallon tank with a filter for a 100 gallon (cascade 1000), plan on having live plants (amazon sword, java moss, etc.), some driftwood, and a slate cove/cave. All on a sand substrate. So my question is with the list provided below, could i get more fish or am i at max? The ones with the * are the ones i absolutely must have.

*Synodontis Lucipinnis x 3
*Angel x 2
*Kuhli Loach x 3
Cherry Barb x 5
*Black Molly x 3
Guppy x 5
*Betta x 1
*Rubbernose Pleco x 3
Neon Tetra x 5

sfsamm

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Discus-Tang said:
Here's my advice:
Replace rubbernose plecos with bristlenose plecos

Make sure your guppy M:F ratio is at least 1:2

Don't get a betta

Up your numbers of kuhlis, barbs and neons to 6

Prepare for angelfish terrorism.

Sorry if I sound blunt.
Agree with this entirely... And the synos would also appreciate a couple additional friends but they will be ok with 3... But when provided enough friends they are much less prone to hiding and much more fun to watch. and the schools mentioned above at the end of the day you can always add more there if you have available bioload and want to have a bit more action as again the more the merrier!

MissRuthless

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years