New Tank Layout Suggestions

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by Sarah M, Apr 9, 2018.

1. Sarah M

Sarah MNew MemberMember

I just upgraded my betta's (Fawkes) tank from a 5.5 gallon to a 10 gallon tank and am looking for some guidance. IMAG1616.jpg

This is my first time with live plants (besides marimos) and I've already screwed it up a bit. I picked the plants (an Amazon Sword and an Anubias barteri) up while away over night and just plopped them into a vase for the night, thinking that they'd be fine until I got them back to the tank. Lol they're not called aquatic plants for nothing-- the Anubias was fine because it was fully submerged but the Amazon Sword looks a little rough now (oops).

Anyways, I clearly have no idea what I'm doing with regards to these plants. I was originally going to do a bare bottom tank and had planned to weigh the plants down by tying them to some heavy stones. However, I didn't like the look, so I put some gravel in that I had on hand and "planted" them. Do you think this will work? Is there a better way to plant them? Also, are root tabs necessary for these types of plants?

Thanks for the help!

2. TexasDomer

TexasDomerFishlore LegendMember

Root tabs are necessary for Amazon swords, which should be planted. However, it'll outgrow your tank size. Any chance you can return it for something else?

The Anubias should not be planted - the rhizome will rot if below the substrate (from your pic, it looks like the rhizome is above the substrate, so it's fine if you want to leave it). You can let it float or tie it to decor. They do not need root tabs.

3. Algonquin

AlgonquinWell Known MemberMember

maybe get some floating plants to help fill it in with a bit more green? Amazon Frogbit is nice looking, and bettas like the roots that hang down from the water surface. They're pretty inexpensive too.
    A nice piece of driftwood would be great in there too! :)

4. Heather2131New MemberMember